VEHICLES, CAMPERS, and BOATS > Bikes Motorcycles, S x S's, Tractors, and Mowers

AV Gas

(1/3) > >>

KensAuto:
Anyone have experience running this stuff? Other than hearing old timer stories about running it in super stocks, I have zero experience with it.

Here's where I'm headed:
I'm completely fed up with ethanol. It just doesn't hold up to our summers. I'm just going around in circles trying to keep up with everything, rebuilding carbs, cleaning tanks, injectors, etc. I suppose if I sold off all the toys and tools it would be easier, but kinda hate to do that. I haven't had great results from Stabil, and inconsistent results from Seafoam...if and when I remember to use it.
It's bad enough dealing with customer cars with these issues, so I want to switch it up on at least some of my stuff.

First I looked for non-ethanol fuel near me. The nearest non-race pump gas is 100 miles away, and only 87 octane. (I got this info from the website https://www.pure-gas.org/ which I'm pretty sure Charles recommended a long while back). Other, closer stations sell race fuel (94-110 octane, non-lead only, I think) also starting at $8/gal.

I priced out bottom of the line race gas, locally, and it's $8/gal for 94 octane unleaded, straight gas.... same company that sells to some of the stations.

Now,  the small airport 2 miles away has 100 octane leaded for $3.40/gal. I don't plan on using it in anything with a cat, just the UTVs, chainsaws, etc., and toy hauler, for storage and to feed the generator.

Any input? Seems like a reasonable cost to benefit ratio.

Mrwoody: