Hello Guest

Author Topic: WMO for fuel in a LML Duramax diesel  (Read 980 times)

Offline Flyin6

• Head cook and bottle washer
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
WMO for fuel in a LML Duramax diesel
« on: June 13, 2022, 05:10:26 PM »
I am going to start an experiment by running alternate fuels in my 2011 LML Duramax engine

The times demand we explore possibilities for alternative fuel sources looking into an uncertain future where fuel will either be super expensive or become difficult to source. If predictions hold true, people may well be challenged to find diesel fuel.

In the past, we were reluctant to experiment with the Duramax engine with its costly injectors and high-pressure pump. I had replaced the CP4A high-pressure pump in lieu of a CP3 pump which is known as a dead reliable unit as opposed to the failure-prone more modern CP4 pumps. That experiment cost me nearly three thousand dollars for parts and three good days of labor (Since I am a novice, and it was my first time).

I know that new injectors will also cost in the thousands and for those reasons along with diesel fuel in the mid $2 range, there was little incentive to take a chance on screwing up costly parts.

So, no one really messed with the formula. Buu the cheap ULSD and run it. When things like injectors or pumps failed, anty up and pay the piper for new parts.

With fuel between $5 and $6 and rumored to go much higher, now, one can save nearly half the cost of a single injector by running a tank of something else that is, essentially, free.

About a month or so ago, I started running a single quart of ATF in the fuel, straight up. Then I ran two, then I ran two plus a quart of Marvel's mystery oil. My interest was in lubing 135K injectors to extend their life. The scar rating of the ULSD is insufficient to prevent the injectors from simply wearing out.

But while doing so, I can swear, I think the engine became more quiet and just smoother.
Site owner    Isaiah 6:8, Psalm 91