Hello Guest

Author Topic: Anyone cook Wagyu?  (Read 1018 times)

Offline Farmer Jon

• Registered
    • View Profile
Anyone cook Wagyu?
« on: May 03, 2017, 07:20:11 AM »
I got a whole ribeye uncut of wagyu. My neighbor raises it. Black Angus cows with a wagyu bull. He said don't over cook it or its just like a regular steak. I was thinking sear both sides and call it done. I have no experience with this and don't want to screw it up.

Sent from my VK810 4G using Tapatalk

Father, husband, farmer, trucker, mechanic, equipment operator, ect

Offline EL TATE

• Registered
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone cook Wagyu?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2017, 11:43:36 AM »
wagyu has a lot more fat in the cut and you don't want to over render it. a reverse sear is a great technique for really high marbling like a ribeye. I would only do this with 1" or thicker cut steaks:

1.Preheat oven to 275f

2.Place well seasoned, ROOM TEMPERATURE steaks on a rack over a baking tray. Just salt and pepper and don't be shy.

3.Put in oven and cook to an internal temp of 110-115f (mostly rare, but important) your preference of doneness doesn't matter here.*

4.Remove when at temp and rest for 10-15 minutes under foil

5.Preheat a cast iron skillet or heavy based pan to screamingly hot, no oil needed.

6.Sear steaks for one minute each side

7.Serve immediately, or you can get crazy and throw a big pat of butter in the pan at the last second and baste that sucker for a few extra seconds, then devour! This will not be necessary but still fun, who doesn't like butter?*

I'm extremely jealous and require photos of the end product Jon. :angry:

Edit for clarity. I have made some amendments to my instructions after talking with a cook that has more experience. DO NOT over cook this or I will come and relieve you of your cooking duties!
« Last Edit: May 03, 2017, 12:59:55 PM by EL TATE »
Husband, Father, Gear guy, Patriot.

Offline Wilbur

• Registered
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone cook Wagyu?