WEAPONS > Other Weapons

Knives,Axes,Tomahawks..... oh my!

(1/14) > >>

BobbyB:
It was brought to my attention, that we are lacking a thread to discuss the pros/cons of the knives that are out on the market. So if you have a knife (folder,fixed,full-tang,rat-tailed), ax or tomahawk that you want to show off and give a review on post it up!

To help out here's an outline.

Manufacturer:
Model # or Name:
Price:
Specs:
How you use it:
Pros:
Cons:

And naturally pics, so we can all enjoy.

KensAuto:
What a coincidence, I just happened to receive this in the mail today. I've been using fixed blade Kershaws for about 25 years now, mostly because of cost, and it usually takes 3 or 4 knives to dress and bone out an elk. I decided to purchase a couple better blades (sub $150.00 range) for the task and this is number 1:

Spyderco Bill Moran FB02, fixed 3-7/8" drop point blade. 8-1/16" overall.
VG-10 steel
Kydex sheath w/adjustable G-Tec clip
Cost: this one was $90ish from Amazon.
Note: scary sharp right out of the box.

Nate:
so I thought I could definitely add something to this thread.  I actually carry and or use 4 different knives on a daily basis.  in the picture below you can see all 4 of those knives.  here are the brands, models, where they are worn/kept and what they are used for.

the first one or top one is a: Ka-Bar Becker BK2 Campanion Fixed Blade Knife and it is stored in my go bag or assault pack, it has 4x25’ long pieces of 550 cord braided together for emergency situations when some type of cordage is needed or required.

Specs:
Weight 1.0 lb.
Steel 1095 Cro-Van
Blade Type Fixed Blade Lock Style N/A
Blade Thickness 0.250
Measurements Blade length 5-1/4"; Overall length 10-1/2" Grind Flat
Edge Angles 20 Degrees
Handle Material Zytel 
Shape Drop Point HRC 56-58
Stamp KA-BAR Becker Butt Cap/Guard N/A
NSN 1095-01-493-1798 KNIFE-COMBAT