GENERAL TOPICS > Parenting

New/old way of communicating

(1/2) > >>

Flyin6:
So, my middle son is off to basic training with the US Army.

We do the typical communicating that everyone else does, texts, emails and so forth, and say all the usual things, but I had a thought the other night.

My son is a soldier in the Army and I am a writer...

I believe JRR Tolken was a writer and his son was an airman in the RAF

I think Mr. Tolken conceived the entire epic story and novel, Lord of the rings, and may well have consulted through letters he wrote to his son. Mr Tolken a lieutenant in the British Army who served in Northern France in WW1 knew of the trials of war and spoke of it with his son.

Well, in a manner, I think I just might give that a twirl as well. Write my own epic adventure fantasy to share with my son, and I guess, after he gets to read each installment, to share with all of you and everyone else as well. Hopefully he might look forward to see what old dad has come up with this time...

So, I have actually been already writing that story. I call it "Thoren"

I will share it in another place after I start mailing the developing story to him...

Flyin6:
So, I have been doing this thing, and by golly, it has taken off.

So far I have been sending Nate bits and pieces of the book as I progress along. I am now working on Chapter 6, passing the 40,000 word mark already, and have sent him up to Ch3. I'll send off Ch 4 tomorrow. His buddies are fascinated by it as well and are now asking me to send it to them as well.

It is becoming quite the work, and although I mentioned sharing it here, it may actually turn into something I publish. Sort of a Lord of the Rings kind of story, its pure fantasy and fun. The privates in basic have zero outlet for entertainment, so i am kind of sneaking in a book under the radar to them.

I'll share the Intro to it and maybe the first map, which is always evolving.

I'd appreciate feedback