Hello Guest

Author Topic: Rusted rocker panels  (Read 5318 times)

Offline longball

• Registered
    • View Profile
Rusted rocker panels
« on: July 06, 2016, 01:03:43 PM »
It seems as though you men know a lot about body work so I would like to trouble you for some advice. My 2004 LB7 and I migrated to down south from Missouri, where's there's a lot of road salt. Naturally, my rocker panels are starting to rust through on both sides. I took it to a body shop (I have zero knowledge of body work) last week and got some bad news. $1,100-1,200 to patch the panels, spray with rust converter, and hope for the best or $4,500-5,000 to replace both complete rocker panels and fix it right. It's been a great truck but with 183,000 miles I can't convince myself to spend the $5k, especially since we are talking about having kids and it is an extended cab. So, I think what I'll have to do is let them patch the spots that need it and put rust converter everywhere they can reach. They said in the past they've had decent success with drilling some small holes and spraying converter inside the panel with a fog tip they made. What do y'all think? Is there another option I'm not considering that I should look into? Like I said, I know nothing about body work.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: July 06, 2016, 01:04:41 PM by longball »

Offline KensAuto

• Global Moderator
  • My abuser is named Nate
    • View Profile
Re: Rusted rocker panels
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 02:16:08 PM »
No expert here, but some input until one shows up:
You really don't know how bad it is until you break into it, ie, start cutting it open, and once you do that, there's really no turning back. That being said, if they think they can at least stop it's progress and get it sealed up against further moisture intrusion, then that might be a decent way to go until you can afford to do it right.