Hello Guest

Author Topic: Down and dirty rust treatment.  (Read 3937 times)

Offline longball

• Registered
    • View Profile
Down and dirty rust treatment.
« on: May 25, 2017, 01:24:55 PM »
I while back I borrowed (which I hate doing) one of dad's trailers to bring my antique John Deere home. Dad always said that if you borrow something it should be returned in better shape that when it left so... I'll try to stick to that.

I don't know how long dad has owned this trailer. Probably 25 years or so.

My plan is to get everything clean, hit it with a wire wheel, then coat it with rust converter. If I have the opportunity before the trip back home I may run him some new lights. If not, maybe he and I can knock that out while I'm there. I'm not an expert at anything other than causing trouble so all suggestions will be graciously considered.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 25, 2017, 01:30:27 PM by longball »

Offline longball

• Registered
    • View Profile
Re: Down and dirty rust treatment.
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2017, 01:38:10 PM »
I started by removing the floor.

When I got the floor off it was time for the pressure washer. Got this one on sale a few years ago at Costco and have been quite pleased with it.
Making a small mess.

Got interrupted for a few minutes by a wreck just up the road a ways. Young fella rear ended an undercover police officer. Thankfully everyone is ok.

That'll need some attention.

Speeding up the drying process.

Offline rpar86

• Registered
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2017, 02:23:45 PM »