VEHICLES, CAMPERS, and BOATS > Build Threads

To build or not to build

(1/12) > >>

TexasRedNeck:
So, I'm not sure if this should be in the Build Thread section or maybe in drive line.  Mods feel free to move. (change my profile or whatever else yall do to harass me...)

I would like to have a purely mechanical vehicle for a number of reasons.  A friend is offering me a free vehicle and I'm contemplating whether it might be worth a build, knowing that I am likely to go full retard oil change...

So here is the vehicle:  It is a 1985 Land Rover Series III 88 inch wheelbase 4cyl gas. It is right hand drive.  Body is aluminum and interior has been redone.

Frame is rusted and would have to be replaced.  I would not want to keep the gas engine and I would look to likely have different running gear.

Admittedly I have no experience with Rovers.  I do know that complete aftermarket galvanized chassis is available so the frame issue is easy to fix.  The track width is 4ft. 3 1/2 inches.

I envision a new frame and hanging heavier duty axles underneath it and buying a P Pump 4bt and manual trans.

I'm out of my element here and could use some real world advice.  Does a RHD vehicle make swapping running  gear (front axle and steering) a challenge?  I know I can weld and fit the 4bt and transmission, but the transfer case and axles give me some heartburn.  While it may be a free vehicle its easily a 10K plus project with new frame and a running 4bt and some new axles and transfer case.

It would fit the bill of no power anything, no AC, nada.  Simple and bullet proof and go anywhere.

So any advice here?  Should I just buy an old Jeep and run the other direction from this thing?

Flyin6:
Could you change it to left hand drive?

Do you just want to build something unique?

If the answer is no, then what reason would you have to build something that would be such a challenge.

An old jeep would fit the ticket wouldn't it?