Hello Guest

Author Topic: Adding Helper Air Bags to 1/2 ton truck  (Read 2475 times)

Offline Bear9350

• Registered
    • View Profile
Adding Helper Air Bags to 1/2 ton truck
« on: August 10, 2017, 01:27:11 PM »
Over the last few weeks I test drove a bunch of 3/4 ton gas trucks.  I liked the ride and fuel economy of the 1/2 ton but although I didn't truly need a 3/4 truck but it would make it nice on the occasions that I am towing or hauling something heavy.  After much thought I decided the best bang for my buck would be adding helper air bags to a 1/2 ton. 

I plan on ordering a Rough Country 2-1/2" suspension lift/ level kit.  This will raise the front end up about 2-1/2" and the rear end up about an 1".  This should get me a little closer to the ride height/ stance I like and am more accustomed to in the 3/4 ton trucks I have been driving for the last 10 years.  I have no qualms with taking the rake out because I also plan to order helper bags to keep the truck level when towing/ hauling.  Currently I am looking closely at the Load Lifter 5000 Ultimate kit.  This gives me a 5000 lb carrying capacity.  This is far more than I expect to need but the Ultimate kit comes with an internal jounce bumper.  This internal bumper prevents damage to the air bags if they are ran with 0 pressure.

I already have a VIAR compressor and a 2 gallon air tank I think.  I purchased these a couple years ago and planned to install under my 2012 Dmax but it never happened.  Currently I am in the process of determining the best method to fill the bags.  I don't think I need a fancy in cab system.  I had thought I should just be able to install a pressure regulator and gage between the tank and bags to fill to the required pressure.  The second option I am considering would be installing the Schrader valves supplied with the kit and just using an air hose to fill them.  Should the VIAR compressor fail this would allow my to easily adjust pressure at just about any gas station.