Hello Guest

Author Topic: Snowshoes  (Read 1271 times)

Offline Wilbur

• Registered
    • View Profile
Snowshoes
« on: February 12, 2017, 05:30:20 PM »
Okay so I will give you my review of my short (1 time) experience with my new snowshoes. I have wanted a pair for a long time as I love the winter and being out in the snow, but once the heavy stuff hits it keeps me from getting out there as much as I would like. So I’ve been reviewing my options for quite some time- looking at options from Cabelas, Amazon etc. As a novice I didn’t want to pay too much for something I might ultimately hate doing so I tried to find something when it was on sale. But I also recognized that I needed a decent sized pair….I’m 6’1” but weight about 230 so add a pack to that and I needed a longer shoe.

At the same time, I am not looking to climb Everest in these things, nor do I live out in powder country so I figured I could “get by” with some of the more basic versions. I also am viewing this as purely a recreational thing, not something that is a life or death situation where I would need to get the best ones I could. 

So I had gotten a LLBean gift card for Christmas (Both my Mom and my Dad are/were from Maine so LLBean is a “go too” for holidays and birthdays). I know I’ve mentioned their lifetime guarantee before in regards to hiking boots but I also felt that might come in handy with these as well should something happen to them). Anyway after Christmas their “Winter Walker” line of shoes was on sale. I think I paid $100 for them. I also got a pair of extendable poles and a bag for them.