Hello Guest

Author Topic: New/old way of communicating  (Read 1620 times)

Online Flyin6

• Head cook and bottle washer
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
New/old way of communicating
« on: July 03, 2021, 02:00:15 PM »
So, my middle son is off to basic training with the US Army.

We do the typical communicating that everyone else does, texts, emails and so forth, and say all the usual things, but I had a thought the other night.

My son is a soldier in the Army and I am a writer...

I believe JRR Tolken was a writer and his son was an airman in the RAF

I think Mr. Tolken conceived the entire epic story and novel, Lord of the rings, and may well have consulted through letters he wrote to his son. Mr Tolken a lieutenant in the British Army who served in Northern France in WW1 knew of the trials of war and spoke of it with his son.

Well, in a manner, I think I just might give that a twirl as well. Write my own epic adventure fantasy to share with my son, and I guess, after he gets to read each installment, to share with all of you and everyone else as well. Hopefully he might look forward to see what old dad has come up with this time...

So, I have actually been already writing that story. I call it "Thoren"

I will share it in another place after I start mailing the developing story to him...
Site owner    Isaiah 6:8, Psalm 91 
NSDQ      Author of the books: Distant Thunder and Thoren

Online Flyin6

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: New/old way of communicating
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2021, 07:10:51 PM »
So, I have been doing this thing, and by golly, it has taken off.

So far I have been sending Nate bits and pieces of the book as I progress along. I am now working on Chapter 6, passing the 40,000 word mark already, and have sent him up to Ch3. I'll send off Ch 4 tomorrow. His buddies are fascinated by it as well and are now asking me to send it to them as well.